Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Trigger Punching???? >

Trigger Punching????

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Trigger Punching????

Old 08-02-2006, 09:06 PM
Fork Horn

Default Trigger Punching????

I seem to be having a little trouble with punching my trigger that I cant shake.This is my first year bowhunting and to me it's a lot different than squeezing a gun trigger.With a gun I can usually make a prop with my elbow on my knee or just a sturdy object so I can take my time,hold steady,and squeeze.With my bow it seems like I want to punch the trigger as soon as thepin hits my target.I can't seem to hold it steady enough.I don't think that my draw weight is the problem because I've been leaving it pretty light until I get the feel of shooting it.My groups are'nt that bad but I think they should be a little more tighter and consistent.
Anybody have any opinions,suggestion,or aremidy(not sure on spelling)?Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
James
Old 08-02-2006, 09:08 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Trigger Punching????

yeah id like some feedback im sorta having this problem too, i think the correct term is target panic i believe
Old 08-02-2006, 09:10 PM

Blind bale, blind bale, and blind bale some more. Get close to the target, like......10 feet, and either blindfold yourself or close your eyes. FOCUS on form and follow through. It's boring, but if you want to kick the habit, you'll need to do this for a couple weeks. After that, start shooting spots again, but don't always fire an arrow. Every once in a while, draw, anchor, and let down. By doing this, your brain will have to "guess" when you are shooting and when you aren't.

Or, learn back tension.
Old 08-02-2006, 09:16 PM
Boone & Crockett