Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Should I upgrade? >

Should I upgrade?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Should I upgrade?

Old 07-09-2006, 07:40 PM

Default Should I upgrade?

I have been shooting a Browning Bridger bow for 16 years. It delivers about 50# (only 210 fps with 550 GR Easton 2215 LITE ARROW)of KE from 61# of draw. I have always heard that 50# of KE is enough for any whitetail provided you have the right shot.I shoot it very well and never take shots beyond 20 yards as I hunt in deep timber. However, I have rarely had a pass-through kill with this bow. It seems though, that as long as that arrow gets in the boiler room, that does the job quickly.

That got me thinking...I am aware that it is night and day when it come to comparing a Bowtech, Hoyt, Mathews, etc of today with that old bow that is 16 years old. I have shot them all and they are awesome. I think I have a moral obligation to the game I hunt to take them as efficiently as possible. In your field experience, if I move up to the bow that delivers 70-75 lbs of KE with the same60# draw, will I really see a dramatic improvement in passthrough--or will I still see my share of 1 holers?? I am thinking I will definitely see better results, but math is math, and the field is another place. wanted to be sure I asked before dropping the $ on a new bow. I am also considering going lower in the tree to get a shallower angle on the shot andshooting smaller diameter arrows to get better penetration.

thanks in advance for your experience.
Old 07-09-2006, 08:02 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Should I upgrade?