Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 New to Bowhunting >

New to Bowhunting

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New to Bowhunting

Old 06-29-2006, 11:22 AM
Fork Horn

Default New to Bowhunting

I'm usually over at the gun hunting forum but I am new to the bowhunting game. I'm sure you guys get this all the time but I guess I will ask once more. I would really like to get a bow this summer but am not sure where to start. There are so many different aspects of a bow and I'm not sure I know what most of them are. I know what draw lenght is and I guess pull back pounds but that is about it. What are the best bang for the buck bow's out there? I'm not looking to spend a fortune right off. I want to see if I'm going to stick with it or not. Just head me in the right direction and give me some solid info to do a little more research. Thanks.
Old 06-29-2006, 11:32 AM

Default RE: New to Bowhunting

hoyt makes some nice beginner bows that are above "beginner" quality....if that makes any sense.
I started with a browning rage, but I was pretty young. I would go with a hoyt.
Old 06-29-2006, 11:36 AM
Fork Horn

ok thanks. Any suggestions on specifications?
Old 06-29-2006, 02:02 PM
Typical Buck

Find your area bow shops and go take a look,and talk to them.Brand,who cares ! we all have our favorites.Go with the one that feels the most comfortable too you.The way it feels in your hands,the way it draws,and what is in your price range.
Old 06-29-2006, 02:14 PM

For your first bow, a long Axle to Axle length and long brace height bow would be best. These features make a bow more "forgiving" of errors in shooting form.