Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Spooking deer

Old 06-07-2006, 08:34 AM
Spike

Default Spooking deer

Thanks guy for all the good replies on those broadheads! I have another question. If you hunt from a stand or a blind and there are deer feeding or bedded in front of you and hunting time is ending, do you get out and spook the deer or just wait them out? If you spook them, will they return the next day? If you have to spook them, How do you do it? Again, I'm new at this so any help is much appreciated.

Cormier
Old 06-07-2006, 09:04 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Spooking deer

That's a tough and good question. I'd try to wait it out some. But not ahuge amount of time. If I have to spook them, I'd proably not return the very next day. If it were a "shooter" that I had to spook, I'd probably not set up on him in the exact same spot.
Old 06-07-2006, 10:30 AM

If there are a lot of coyotes in your area, and where aren't there these days, a coyote call does a pretty good job of spooking deer away without giving your location away. Just blow it away from them and down towards the ground.

I've been pinned in a tree before by a big doe on a couple of occasions. I just wait till it's good and dark and she's at least 40 or 50 yards away. I sneak down and put my green light on. I've walked right past them and out on a couple of occasions. I'm told that deer are used to things passing by them in the dark and they'll just sit still until whatever it is is gone.
Old 06-07-2006, 10:34 AM
Boone & Crockett

ORIGINAL: Trembow