Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 What Broadhead to use >

What Broadhead to use

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

What Broadhead to use

Old 06-05-2006, 07:59 AM
Spike

Default What Broadhead to use

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the bowhunting sport and need a little help. I've been practicing alot and it's going well. I'm shooting a PSE triton and using radial X weave. I'm using 100 gr field tips so I know I will need 100 gr. broadheads. I will order from cabelas. What is the best ones out there. I will be using it for whitetail this Fall. Thanks in advance for your help!

Cormier
Old 06-05-2006, 08:05 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: What Broadhead to use

You will definitely get many different opinions on which broadhead to use but I'll start it off by suggesting NAP Thunderheads. I used these with great success for many years before trying the Sonic 100's made by American Broadhead Company. I shot a small 6 pt using the Sonic's last year and he only went 30 yards. He was perfectly broadside and I nailed through both lungs. You should seriously think about using either of these.
Old 06-05-2006, 08:13 AM
Typical Buck

I like the Thunderhead 100, too, and have used them for many years.

Currently, I use the Slick Trick (www.slicktrick.net). They are a very strong quality head and shoot just like field points.

Beyond that, I don't have any experience using anything else. I would suggest you try to stick to fixed blade heads though. Just my two cents!
Old 06-05-2006, 08:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

NAP Spitfire!!!!! They leave a blood trail that a blind man could follow, but so far i havent had to follow it, all the deer have died within 40 yards.
Old 06-05-2006, 08:38 AM
Banned

Fixed blades; Muzzy..mechanical; Spitfire Killed many deer with both..both are high quality products
Old 06-05-2006, 08:56 AM
Giant Nontypical