Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Buck Fever?

Old 02-14-2006, 07:44 AM

Default Buck Fever?

Hi Fellow Hunters.

I am new to the forum and just stopping in to see how things work.

I am only in my 2nd year of bow hunting, This past season I had a 8 point buck come about 10 yrds in from of my tree stand. My best freind who has been hunting most of his life told me stories about what would happen if I seen a buck in front of me. He said you wont be able to breatch, Knees get real shaky, and you'll talk to yourself. Well sure enough, I seen that buck coming towards me at about 60 yrds away, Being my 2nd yr. I got excited and drew my bow back, I would say a little early. As I held it back for about 40 yrds, it started happening, couldnt breath, got real shaky, and yep, I was talking to myself.

Sure enough that buck stood there at about 20 yrds. And I'll be danged if I didnt shoot about 3 inches over its back. Heck I could have jumped out of the stand and got it alot faster and better.

Has this " Buck Fever" ever got to anyone else?

Old 02-14-2006, 07:56 AM

Default RE: Buck Fever?

Yep. It's probably happened to just about everyone at one time or another.
Old 02-14-2006, 08:03 AM
Fork Horn

Heh Heh, yes that is why we bowhunt. The first buck I drew on caused me to shake so bad the arrow fell off the rest on onto the ground. The deer looked at me and I swear started laughing.
Old 02-14-2006, 08:38 AM