Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Has anyone used tree climbing spikes? >

Has anyone used tree climbing spikes?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Has anyone used tree climbing spikes?

Old 01-27-2006, 07:39 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Has anyone used tree climbing spikes?

How do these work? Are they easy to use? Are they safe? I'm thinking about trying these (with a safety harness of course) but I have some safety concerns. Any feedback would be appreciated....

Old 01-27-2006, 07:46 AM

Default RE: Has anyone used tree climbing spikes?

Looks a little scary to me...never tried em. Be careful
Old 01-27-2006, 08:05 AM
Boone & Crockett

I work in the field as a telephone technician and climb poles for a living. I absolutely would not recommend these unless you have experience with them and do not intend to climb the same tree many times. I definately would not recommend them for hunting where you would stand on them for any length of time. Not only are they hard on your knees but your back as well AND, standing on gafts for a length of time makes your feet go numb even with the best climbing boots.

I think they'd be alright for triming and then hanging a stand with a ladder system or climbing sticks or steps but again they will tear up a tree.

I don't know what your intent is with these but be careful, keep your knees and midsection away from the tree/pole when you climb keep the gafts in the tree at the angle specified. Again, I recommend a climbing stand, ladder sticks or even screw in steps before I would ever recommend the use of gafts....I climb poles for a living and wouldn't use these myself.[&:]
Old 01-27-2006, 09:32 AM
Giant Nontypical