Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I need help!

Old 10-09-2002, 09:00 PM

Default I need help!

Hey guys
On Saturday I missed a nice buck at 22 yards, and now tonight I shot at a doe, and grazed some hair off her brisket. She trotted off. My deal is, what the heck is going on? You see, I'm not a bad bow shot. I've been bowhunting for 6 years, since I was 14 years old. Prior to this season I had shot at 5 deer, and 3 went in the freezer. Now this year I miss two in less than a week. I don't know what the problem is. Usually when a deer was in range, I would pick a spot, and send the arrow right there. Now these last two, I just shot at the whole vital area. I don't use sights, so you can see the problem with not picking a spot. It's not buck fever, I've shot 8 deer with a bow or gun, including a near P&Y buck. Now I just can't seem to hit. Has anybody ever went through this? Bowhunting is my passion/obession, and I feel like I'm failing, big time.
Also, what would you do in my situation? I missed both deer on the same trail. I was thinking about moving my stand 50 yards or so further into the woods, hoping that the deer won't be spooked further back. The doe I missed tonight started to run, then just trotted off, so I don't think she was too spooked. I'm just worried that they may avoid the exact area, and maybe a minor stand move will be worth it. Thanks for all you help, any comments will be greatly appreciated.

"Playing under the table and dreaming"
Old 10-09-2002, 09:30 PM

Default RE: I need help!

And just before I get yelled at for wounding a deer, the arrow that I shot at the doe had no blood on the arrow or in or on the broadhead, no blood on the ground, just some hair on the broadhead. I'm sorry, but I have a feeling somebody will lay into me saying that I left a wounded deer in the woods.

"Playing under the table and dreaming"