Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Should I use this Bow?? >

Should I use this Bow??

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Should I use this Bow??

Old 11-20-2005, 12:03 PM

Default Should I use this Bow??

I have this bow that I got as a Christmas Gift about 8 years ago. I used it once when I first got it to practice with it and I got frustrated with it and put it away and havent used it since. Now I want to get into bowhunting but I do not want to spend the money on a new bow if I do not have to, since I am just starting out. The bow is a Bear Black Bear Model. It has nothing on it, no stabilizer no nothing. I need to know what I kind of accesories I should buy for it, arrows,stabilizers,sights, etc. Remember I am a beginner. Here are the specifications of the setup of the bow: Draw length is 30, draw weight set at 65, and string length is 36. Here are some pics of the bow below let me know if you think it is stil good to use for my first year or so. Thanks. Matt

Old 11-20-2005, 12:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Should I use this Bow??

Nothing wrong with the bow at all.Get the string and cables checked over by a pro shop and you should be good to go.

I used it once when I first got it to practice with it and I got frustrated with it and put it away and havent used it since.
Well the first thing you should do is have the shop check your draw length.30 inch draw may be way to long for you to aquire a proper anchor.65# weight may be to heavy as well for a new archer.The shop will set the bow up properly for you and teach you some of the more important basics on shooting properly.
As far as equipment is conserned,I see it already has a site on it.Get a good rest.NAP makes rests that are good and affordable.If you want to spend a bit more money then go with a drop away but it really isnt necessary.