Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Need some WISDOM >

Need some WISDOM

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need some WISDOM

Old 11-16-2005, 11:58 PM
Spike

Default Need some WISDOM

I have been hunting w/ my bow for 2 years now. I have great places to hunt, hardly ever go without seeing deer. I missed a buck last yr. that was the only shot I took all season. Got him w/ a rifle. This year I decided that I would take a doe early and then go hard after a buck. I missed a doe twice in a 2 minute period the first weekend out. 2 weeks ago I had a nice buck within range and made a bad shot, hit him but high up in the backstrap (little penetration). I am confident out to 40 yrds but, refuse to take a shot past 25 on a deer. I need help calming the nerves, and I have a problem aiming through my peep at deer. I just can't seem to get a good fix on where i'm aiming and then I have to look w/ my other eye and that throws me off. ANY ADVICE
Old 11-17-2005, 05:28 AM

Default RE: Need some WISDOM

I would practice a little more at aquiring my target with the peep or get rid of the peep if it just is'nt working.Cocentrate more on the shot and not the deer.I have taken a few deer with the bow and I am always a little nervous when it's time for the shot.This year I had a spike buck within 10 yrds of my stand and when it came time to draw my form was out the window it took me three attemps to finally get my bow drawn and the shot off.You can get a larger peep sight also.Hope this helps and good luck
Old 11-17-2005, 06:21 AM

Practice with your broadheads
From an elevated stand,if you hunt from a treestand
Shoot at a 3D deer target
Wear all your hunting gear while you practice
Run around,climb up to your platform and shoot,this will get your heart beating like it is on the real thing

Just some thoughts