Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How do I ask an ole' lady for permission to hunt? >

How do I ask an ole' lady for permission to hunt?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How do I ask an ole' lady for permission to hunt?

Old 11-08-2005, 09:08 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How do I ask an ole' lady for permission to hunt?

On my way home from town every night, I see a 140-150 class deer in the corn field every night, and I've never seen hunters in the woods behind it. I want to ask for permission to hunt there but Im not sure how I word it. Im thinking of maybe giving her some of the meat from a doe or something, or maybe some fresh fruits or something. But how do I exactly put it? Im not too good with words, so if you could just word it for me then that would be great!
Old 11-08-2005, 09:14 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: How do I ask an ole' lady for permission to hunt?

Tell her that you are with animal control and need to remove this problem deer from her property.....lol
Old 11-08-2005, 09:17 PM
Fork Horn

what i do is just come out and ask nicely.i always ask to bow hunt private land first.alot of people dont like the thought of guns blasting but a bow is quiet.if there going to say yes to anything its usually bow.at least where im from.then if they say yes to bow after you get to know them throw the gun idea out there.cant hurt to ask.all they can say is no.but you dont know if you dont ask.good luck
Old 11-08-2005, 09:28 PM

Introduce yourself with your full name, if you don't already know each other.
Make sure she knows you live in the area
Of course be nice
Don't go ask in hunting clothes
Make sure she knows you are bowhunting
Be upfront about if it will only be you or you and others
Give her a pre-printed,in your handwriting your name,address and phone number and what you drive