Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How long ...

Old 10-17-2005, 09:37 AM

Default How long ...

This is my first year to bowhunt and I am getting a little frustrated because of the lack of shots I have ... good spot but I see a deer that I could take with a rifle and the bow shot just isn't there. My husband says to be patient because he hunted for several years before he shot a deer with his bow. So I am wondering, how long did y'all bowhunt before you got something? Am I being unrealistic to expect to take a deer this year?

Thanks,
Shannon
Old 10-17-2005, 09:40 AM

Default RE: How long ...

I started last season and also saw lots of deer last year within 30-100 yds and did not shoot with my bow.

This season on my first day out I shot a doe. I have had other opportunities this year on does but have elected to wait.
Old 10-17-2005, 09:51 AM
Typical Buck

i was fortunate to get shots my first year, but it isn't always so. I got a deer the second serious season I was out. 23 yds. my buddy got one shot last year (his first season) and two so far this year, with one connecting on a big doe. don't worry, it'll come together, just be patient.
Old 10-17-2005, 09:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

Absolutely not ,just be patient with it ,if your seeing deer and see where they are coming out from then try moving a bit closer to that spot .Bowhunting definately is different from rifle hunting .I was 3 year's before I struck gold ,but I had had chance's to take deer ,but I was looking for buck's not doe's .Don't worry about it and don't give up because it'll happen when you least expect it ,that's why bowhunting is sooooo much fun .
Good luck to you and keep us informed with your progress .Txstarr it will happen,and then you'll be hooked just like the rest of us.