Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

hunting scrapes

Old 10-14-2005, 07:55 PM
Fork Horn

Default hunting scrapes

anyone have luck hunting over scrapes??i see a few deer around them but never got one.whats the secret if there is one???plmk ty
Old 10-15-2005, 11:10 AM

Default RE: hunting scrapes

I shot a decent 10 pt. 2 yrs. ago by sitting close to his scrap. He supprised me on a Monday morining, that Wed. morning I got him at 8:30am with a19 yard shot hunting on the ground. That happen on Oct. 22 here in Ohio (early for active scraps). His neck was already swollen like he wasin rut. My point is here, and my opinion is if you find scraps early, thenhunt them. I've seen lots ofbucks tend to scraps a lotbefore rut comes in. I'm not a expert by any means, just giving you my opinion based on my personal experiences. Good luck!
Old 10-15-2005, 11:43 AM

Yep i agree, if i find scrapes early and usually you find a string of them, i set up a couple stands on that string of scrapes, for wind reasons, then i hunt them hard. Killed a nice 120 class 8 point last year doing that.
Old 10-15-2005, 08:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

I agree with hunting scrapes. Find a scrape line and watch the wind direction at each. I'll mark them on my topo map and decide which one to hunt each day by the wind direction. If you're lucky enough to have a parcel of land where you can set up a couple of stands without someone stealing them, set two or three off the scrape line keeping in mind the predominant wind direction to stay on the bucks down wind side.
Old 10-16-2005, 08:29 AM

i had a scrapper 8 point walk right over a mok scrape yestarday and didnt even think twice about it. I did it just like I was told although i didnt have any orbital scent to put on the licking branches above it. Maybe it is too early or someting but it was like it wasnt even there
Old 10-16-2005, 08:33 AM