Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Quick Question for experienced bowhunters? >

Quick Question for experienced bowhunters?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Quick Question for experienced bowhunters?

Old 10-09-2005, 04:23 PM

Default Quick Question for experienced bowhunters?

I've got a quick question for all the experienced bowhunters.I'm just a beginner in bowhunting it is my first yearmyname is Vincent Baier and I was wondering when you guys just started bowhunting did you miss any of your shots?

Because I Have gone out 3 times and I have missed 2 shots because I'm just trying to get a doe so I can atleast have shot something with my bow. The firsttime I missed judged the range and I went about an inche below becaus ehe ooked about 40 yards and he was actually about almost 50 and the second time it wasn't a good shot point anyway because he was turned away at an angle so not completely broad side and I went just to the left and a little over top.

Belive me I don't know how I missed because my I group my shots very well at 40 yards.

So just tell me if you have ever missed because I feel like a loser misisng twice just on a doe.
Old 10-09-2005, 04:26 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Quick Question for experienced bowhunters?

Let em get closer. More like 20 yds.Start close than work your way back as you gain expierence. A targert at 40 yds and a deer at 40 yds a not even close to being the same.
Old 10-09-2005, 04:28 PM
Boone & Crockett

We all miss and one point or another Vinny. The key is understanding why you missed and then compensating for it the next time. Though I often practice at 30 and 40 yards my actual shot distance is typically under 15. Might I suggest curbing your shot distance a bit until you get one under your belt? That might help you connect more often.
Old 10-09-2005, 04:28 PM
Nontypical Buck