Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 processing own meat >

processing own meat

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

processing own meat

Old 09-28-2005, 12:15 AM

Default processing own meat

hey i was just wondering how many of you guys processed your own meat? i've never done it before but i want to start this year, my buddy does it and said it saves him a bundle, plus then i willl have a little extra cash for more jerky and venison sticks. and for those who make their own jerky do you have any special recipes/spices you use to make it?
Old 09-28-2005, 12:36 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: processing own meat

I've always taken care of my own processing. The average processingprice per deer is $75 around here. I can't believe people actually pay it considering how easy it is to do yourself.
Old 09-28-2005, 02:21 AM
Boone & Crockett

To much work for me a old man. Plus I have tried it already and I was so tired the next day I couldnt go hunting.Ihunted for fun ,relaxation ,If I wanted to work I would get a job.I retired for a reason.Relax not spend all night cutting .grinding up burger in the bathtub.
Old 09-28-2005, 03:55 AM
Fork Horn

I process my own mostly.
Every now and then I might take one in to get it processed. But it is expensive, Like $75.00, plus they keep they hide. It really is not that hard to do.
Old 09-28-2005, 05:43 AM

I started last year after deciding not to pay $80 to process my deer. It is really easy to do, and I can take my time and make sure it gets done correctly.

Just make sure you have a really sharp fillet knife and you'll be fine!

Old 09-28-2005, 05:44 AM

I do mine and all of my hunting partners.
I grew up in the meat locker business so it's no big deal to me.
We save about 1000.00 per year doing it ourselves.
Old 09-28-2005, 05:59 AM