Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Stand height....crucial? >

Stand height....crucial?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Stand height....crucial?

Old 09-25-2005, 08:01 AM

Default Stand height....crucial?

I have been hunting deer for the past 15 years & my dad (a lineman by trade) has allways preached getting way up there...at least 20'...higher if possible.

Ok...so I usually am anywhere from 18-22' depending on the stand (using climbers). Now my biggest quandry I have now is should I be primarily concerned with how far off the deck I am..for scenting reasons..or should I be more concerned with concealing my siloute?

The reason I ask this now is my favorite stand which my dad got made in a few times last year is in a great spot. The way I have set it up now...its about 20'...but if deer come in a certain way...your siloute is exposed. My new theory is to only go up about 14-15 ' (on the same tree)where my siloute will be well concealed by evergreens...but will sacrifice some shooting lanes.

Please give me your take on it. I hope I drew you an acurate picture so you can relate. Also I hate to sound like Im leaving anyone out but...this question is mainly for those with a lot of hunting out of tree stand experince...especilly bow.

I appreciate it,
Ryan
Old 09-25-2005, 08:09 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Stand height....crucial?

Toughcall. I would probably opt for the shorter stand height and give up a few shooting lanes. What good will the spot be if the deer keep picking you off from it and start avoiding it all together?
Old 09-25-2005, 09:37 AM
Typical Buck