Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 anyone who's used the sumit viper or a stand like it >

anyone who's used the sumit viper or a stand like it

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

anyone who's used the sumit viper or a stand like it

Old 07-29-2005, 08:49 PM

Default anyone who's used the sumit viper or a stand like it

I'm thinking ab out ordering the sumit viper x5 for archery this season, but i've never used a climbing stand before. my main concern is if that bar in the front of the stand gets in the way at all as far as the bow hitting it. also i was wondering if there is enough room between the bar in the front and the seat to stand up for the shot or do you just shoot sitting down? the only kind of tree stands i've used is a simple bench latter seat and a fixed stand that just consisted of a platform and a seat. thanks for the help, q.
Old 07-29-2005, 08:58 PM

Default RE: anyone who's used the sumit viper or a stand like it

I have a Goliath..........which is basically a bigger viper. I love my front rail. I set my bow across it and if a shot chance comes along I just pick up and am ready to go........very little movement needed. I don't like shooting sitting down so I have only shot from a standing position in mine. The rail has never gotten in my way. I set the seat section lower for archery and higher for gun.

I love my summit stand. I highly doubt you will be disappointed.

I will tell you though that I am 5' 9" and a solid 195lbs and I don't feel like I have a ton of extra room in the Goliath. They say it is made for "larger" hunters but I think I fit in it just fine and my waist is only 33"

I really like the look of the outward curved front bar on the new Summit 180.
Old 07-30-2005, 04:20 AM
Nontypical Buck