Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Climbing vs. Non-Climbing Treestands >

Climbing vs. Non-Climbing Treestands

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Climbing vs. Non-Climbing Treestands

Old 05-22-2005, 08:12 PM

Default Climbing vs. Non-Climbing Treestands

This may be dumb but since Im new to Bowhunting I cannot figure out the difference between these two stands, can anyone help this has been bugging me for a while.
Old 05-22-2005, 08:23 PM

Default RE: Climbing vs. Non-Climbing Treestands

The climbing stands are portable, meaning you can move from tree to tree with them. You use them to climb up in the tree. The non-climbing, or hang-on stands, are different. Before the season the hunter climbs the tree and attaches it to the tree. You can take them down, but it is a lot of work.
Old 05-23-2005, 05:26 AM

The climbers are nice because they are very portable and can move around from on spot to another much easier, but you need to be sure that the trees in you area while except them or not. Meaning the right diameter and little or no branches. I have both climbers and hang on stands.
Old 05-23-2005, 11:14 AM

That helped. But now I gotta figure out which one to use, how might I be able to tell that?
Old 05-23-2005, 11:18 AM
Typical Buck

where your hunting, is it your land or public lands?
most public lands dont allow you to leave stands,
in such cases you would want portable climbing stands,
if its your land, and you know you will be hunting the same spot, you may want a more permanent fixed stand,
i have both, fixed stands on 2 spots of my property, and climbing stand for when i go into public lands,
Old 05-23-2005, 11:25 AM

It is public land. But the people I know leave their stands there year round.
Old 05-23-2005, 11:33 AM
Giant Nontypical

Icedragon, here's a brief description..... hope this helps: