Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Summit Stands...Viper X4 or Cobra X4??? >

Summit Stands...Viper X4 or Cobra X4???

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Summit Stands...Viper X4 or Cobra X4???

Old 10-02-2004, 11:20 AM
Fork Horn

Default Summit Stands...Viper X4 or Cobra X4???

I've been seriously thinking about buying a climber for bowhunting this upcoming season which opens in two weeks here in NY. I've never used a climber before and the two I'm looking at right now are the Viper and the Cobra models. I not a real big fan of heights so I like the Viper with it's wrap around bar but have questions about whether or not it will get in the way for a shot, espically for those close range 5-10 yd. shots (I always shoot standing). I know it says the seat is adjustable to compensate for this, but I need to know...does the safety bar get in the way will shooting a bow? Would I be better off looking at the Cobra with its open front design? Thanks.
Old 10-02-2004, 07:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Summit Stands...Viper X4 or Cobra X4???

I use a Viper and the rail does not get in my way. However I take all my shots standing up. The bar could possibly get in your way depending on the angle of the shot and possibly the ata length of your bow.
Old 10-03-2004, 03:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've used both styles and you will be more comfortable in the Viper. When your ready to shoot you can lean foreword and use the rail as a brace with a leg or waist touching it.
Only hard part is when the deer pull one of those appearing acts out of thin air. In those circumstances standing for a shot undetected becomes the first challenge at hand.
Old 10-03-2004, 07:14 AM