Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Used Bear Bow

Old 07-23-2003, 08:40 AM

Default Used Bear Bow

I am brand new to posting messages here, but I read them often. I have been dreaming of bow-huting for the last 3 years, but have never had the money to get a bow. A couple of weeks ago I found a bow in decent condition at a garage sale cheap. Here are my questions: 1. How can I find out what model of bow it is? I know it is a Bear bow because of the emblem. It has some numbers on it , but they look hand written with a marker. It has a black lacquer finish. 2. How do I find a sight and other things I need to start shooting? The only thing on the bow was a quiver. I don' t have a clue about getting it ready for the season and some serious practice. 3. Would the best bet be to take it to an Archery shop and ask them these questions? I was thinking of doing that, but money is an issue and I have only the bow. No arrows or anything else. Sorry if the post is too long. Thank you in advance for your help.
Old 07-23-2003, 02:34 PM
mez
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Used Bear Bow

I assume from your description that the bow is a recurve and not a compound. Post the numbers that are written on it in the traditional section and those guys can help you out. I would take it to a shop and make sure the limbs aren' t twitsted or cracked.
Old 07-24-2003, 08:49 AM

Actually I was a little negligent in my description. It is a compound Bow.
Old 07-24-2003, 08:49 AM

Actually I was a little negligent in my description. It is a compound Bow.
Old 07-24-2003, 06:19 PM
Giant Nontypical

Take it to a pro shop let the man there look at it, check the weight, and measure you for some arrows of the correct spine. Some shops might have used equipment for sale such as sights, releases, etc. Good Luck you have to start somewhere.
Old 07-27-2003, 02:31 PM
Fork Horn