Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

muzzy vs. slick-trick

Old 10-20-2008, 12:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default muzzy vs. slick-trick

Anybody,

I have been shooting mechanicals for several years. I am not completely satisfied with any of them, although I have tried several different brands. I was thinking of shooting muzzys but I have heard alot of good about the slick-tricks. My question is since slick-tricks are four blade, does it make any difference that my arrows are three-fletched? Also does anyone have an opinion as to whether there is any difference in the muzzy or muzzy mx3s. Any advice would be appreciated.

Blessings.....Pastorjim
Old 10-20-2008, 01:38 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: muzzy vs. slick-trick

Either is a great head. I love both. You can't go wrong with either. If you are shooting them through a slow bow, like a trad bow, go with as few blades as possible. I shot two blade heads with my longbows and recurves. If you are shooting a compound, three or four blades is no difference. Muzzy has a four blade and slick tricks has a three blade, you can get either from eithercompany. Only concern is, Muzzy is much easier to find. Fletching will not effect a two, three, or four blade, as long as the bow and arrow are both in tune.
Old 10-20-2008, 01:39 PM
Dominant Buck

Oh yea, a general rule with the cutting size, go bigger with slower. Faster bows like a more compact head, slower bows do great with bigger heads. All relative to what you are trying to achieve.
Old 10-20-2008, 02:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

I shot the Muzzy four blade for years, but the last two years I've been trying to branch out into something new. Last year I used Rage, and it worked, but not like I had hoped from all the hype. So early on this year I went back to the Muzzy, and I'm much more satisfied with them rather than the Rage.