Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Bow for a noob

Old 05-27-2006, 01:32 PM

Default Bow for a noob

well i've been whitetail gun hunting for the past 6 years. and I am sick of hunting post-rut and only in that 9 day season. I like the openness and the buck availability that comes with bow hunting. So, i am looking into getting a bow to start a new hobby!
However, since I am just getting into it, and basically testing it out, I don't want a 1,000 dollar fancy bow. I'm looking for a bow in the $500 dollar range that will still last me years and years, shoot straight and fast. I do not care about having a brand name, or looks (as long as it isnt all shiny and reflective). I just want a good reliable bow that will take down a big buck.

And for my dimensions, I am 6'4, 250lbs. So i'm thinkin i'd need a 30-31" draw, with probably a 60-70 lb. draw. (i'm not sure though, again, I have only shot 1 bow in my entire life, and that was during hunter safety (i did get my bow safety liscense as well )) Oh, I'm also looking for a compound bow.

I know its all about fit, and I assure you I will test some out. I just want some recomendations so I can tell the retailer what I would like to test out.

Thanks
Old 05-27-2006, 02:58 PM

Default RE: Bow for a noob

Break open the popcorn fellers.......Here we go!

Just about EVERY bow company out there right now makes decent equipment. Now, that's not to say there aren't a few "lemons" in the glass, but generally speaking, this is true.

So, first thing's first. You gotta educate yourself. There are several magazines on newstands right now that are all about showing off new equipment for '06. Check them out, check out websites, anything. Then decide on a price range and stick to it. The sky's the limit here, buddy. You could spend as much as you want. If you force me to specifically pick some, ok, I will.