Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Help with safety harness >

Help with safety harness

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Help with safety harness

Old 10-14-2005, 07:31 PM

Default Help with safety harness

I am undecided on which safety harness to get for my 13 year old Son. I have lock on stands set up but cannot decide on which safety system to get for him.
I have narrowed my choices to;

Seat of the Pants Supreme and climbing system rope

Fall guy vest and retractor system

Any opinions on either?

Thanks,
Bmott
Old 10-14-2005, 07:53 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Help with safety harness

I have no personal experience with either one. [&:] But on several forums, including this one, the Seat of the Pants harnesses get a big thumbs up. In fact I don't think I've ever read a post (good or bad) about the Fall guy vest. Though it looks like a good harness as well.
Old 10-15-2005, 02:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

I personaly use the SOP harness and am currently testing the climbing system. So far I am very impressed!!
Old 10-15-2005, 11:32 AM

Go with the seat of the pants, you will be happy you did.
Old 10-15-2005, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Bmott, I recommend the vest style fall restraint. It's safe and very easy to put on. I started with the harness type until my son-in-law purchased the vest harness. The loose harness is a pain in the butt to get into when it's dark and you're in a hurry to get on stand. Straps want to turn and tangle. With the vest there are three plastic buckles to snap and you are ready to roll. Cabela's and Bass Pro both have youth size vests and they are well worth the cost for tree stand safety.
Old 10-16-2005, 01:07 AM

Just make sure that your son wears his harness every time he is on stand.