Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Never shot a muzzleloader... >

Never shot a muzzleloader...

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Never shot a muzzleloader...

Old 03-20-2005, 02:51 PM

Default Never shot a muzzleloader...

I am new to hunting and I have never shot a muzzleloader. I am going to shoot a Connecticut valley Arms Hawken rifle. It shoots .50 caliber ammunition. My dad has never shot one either... He got it as a gift and niether of us know how to use it. How much powder should I put into it? What kind of powder do I use? What kind of bullets do I use? Will it take a deer? Will it take an elk? How many yards for a deer? How many yards for an elk? What's a nipple cap? Do I need a nipple cap? Does the rifle have any recoil? Do scopes fit on it? Do I have to buy special muzzleloader scopes, or can I use my rifle scope on it?

Any help on my little dilema ill be greatly appreciated!
Old 03-20-2005, 03:18 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Never shot a muzzleloader...

Your CVA Hawkins has a 1:48 twist most often except some of the older models had a 1:66 twist. The 1:48 twist will shoot roundball and concials very well in most cases.

The max load in your rifle being a .50 caliber is probably around 110 grains. You will never need to get that far in the powder scale. You can shoot any of the powders on the market. I would suggest trying some Pyrodex P (pistol grade) or RS (rifle shotgun). You could also shoot Triple Se7en powder. If you want to be real daring shoot some Goex Black Powder in 3f.