Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Crud ring question >

Crud ring question

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Crud ring question

Old 03-09-2005, 06:27 PM

Default Crud ring question

Hello everybody!

Been awhile since I've posted but I have a question. I purchased a new T/C Omega not long ago but because of work issues I have not had a chance to shoot it yet. I have said
before that I'm relatively new to Muzzleloading and on this forum and others I have read
about the "crud ring". I have seen many post that talk about the Triple Seven product
causing this ring but I don't recall seeing anything about Pyrodex (loose or pellets) causing this. Does (or will) Pyrodex cause the dreaded crud ring? That's my question.
I have also read good things about Black mag3 powder. I will be going to Cabela's soon
and may have to pick up some Black mag3. Seems this powder causes no crud ring.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you all.
Old 03-09-2005, 06:51 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: Crud ring question

Use a good tight sabot, and no crud ring. Use a loose fitting projectile like a powerbelt, and you might.

Old 03-09-2005, 06:59 PM
Dominant Buck

A crud ring is nothing more then fowling of the powder in the barrel of the rifle near the area where the projectile sits. All powders produce a crud ring of sorts. Some powders perhaps worse then others. The difference in the crud ring that concerns black powder shooters is how hard the crud ring is.

Triple Se7en fowling is crusty and much harder then other powders. Since it is made from the burning of Triple Se7en it can be removed with simple water. So when you swab the bore of the rifle you have to pay special attention to the area near the breech. Work the barrel from the muzzle to the breech in short strokes with your cleaning patches and you should be fine.