Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 swabbing the bore between rounds >

swabbing the bore between rounds

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

swabbing the bore between rounds

Old 01-18-2005, 06:13 PM

Default swabbing the bore between rounds

I am a newbie, do I need to swab the bore between each shot? Also when shooting sabots is it nessessary to put a patch between the powder charge and the sabot?
Old 01-18-2005, 06:20 PM

Default RE: swabbing the bore between rounds

If you are going to be shooting sabots you will probably need to swab between shots, even if it just a spit patch. As far as a patch between the powder and the sabot, don't do that, the sabot will make the seal.

swatts
Old 01-18-2005, 06:28 PM

What type of muzzle loader are you shooting? Some of them have a tighter bore than others.

swatts
Old 01-18-2005, 07:00 PM

I shoot a Knight wolverine .50 cal
Old 01-18-2005, 07:17 PM

As far as swabbing between shots goes, it depends a lot on the type of powder you are going to use. If you are using Triple Se7en, then without question, you'll have to swab between shots, especially if using sabots. There are those out there that have reported using BlackMag3 and American Pioneer powders without swabbing between shots, but I personally have not used these two powders. I do have experience with Triple Se7en and it requires a swab between EVERY shot for ease of loading and best accuracy!
Old 01-18-2005, 07:35 PM
Typical Buck

[quote]ORIGINAL: MOTurkeyTamer

There are those out there that have reported using BlackMag3 and American Pioneer powders without swabbing between shots