Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Melted Sabot?

Old 12-08-2004, 01:13 PM

Default Melted Sabot?

While seating the second round in my encore, I noticed that it lacked about an inch going all the way down. I removed the breech plug and drove the bullet back out of the barrel. After inspecting the bore, I noticed that there appeared to be melted plastic where the bullet hung up. Was this melted sabot from the first shot, or was it from the second sabot and caused by loading it into a still warm barrel?
I want to try seasoning the barrel, but I'm not quite sure how. I was told to apply Borebutter between shots, but do I clean between applying the Borebutter?

Thanks,
Deerplague
Old 12-08-2004, 01:49 PM

Default RE: Melted Sabot?

My guess is, that if you are using 777 you are experiencing the "crud ring" rather than melted plastic.

I've been using 777 with sabots for about two years now, occaisionally powerbelts too, and see this every time. What I do is use a T/C 250 grain sabot for the first shot and then a power belt for the second. Inside 100 yards they are only a few inches apart and the power belt can be loaded after a shot where as the SST sabots are so tight I don't think there is any way you could load one in a dirty barrel.

You should be able to clean the barrel well enuff after two or three spit patches, and then a good dry one to load another sabot though. After 4 or 5 sabots, you might need some plastic dissolver, there are several brands of this on the market.

I want to experiment with using 3 pellets and a lubed wad under the bullet. I know the lubed wad would cut down on crud, but am hesitant to use three pellets.
R
Hank
Old 12-08-2004, 01:55 PM
Boone & Crockett

deerplague

Just guessing, but it really sounds like the famous "crud ring" formed when firing 777 with a very hot primer...