Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Dimpled round balls... >

Dimpled round balls...

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Dimpled round balls...

Old 09-23-2004, 01:18 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Dimpled round balls...

I'm not a physicist. I just had a random thought...

If a round ball had dimples like a golf ball, would that increase range, velocity, etc.?

If so, would you sit around, carving dimples??
Old 09-23-2004, 02:41 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Dimpled round balls...

I am not an expert but here is my take on why it would not work. With a golf ball, when the club strikes the ball it creates back spin. The dimples enhance the effect of the spin and cause the ball to rise. The more the ball spins the higher it rises. At the same time, any side spin will cause the ball to hook or slice. With a rifled barrel. side spin would always be created and the ball would curve (or at least spiral) rather than going straigt. With a smooth bore you would probably get back spin which would cause it to rise and go further but it may not be the best for aiming (trying to get a flat trejectory). I also bet that over the last several hundred years someone has tried it and the fact that you don't see them today is probably evidence that it is not the best set up.
Old 09-23-2004, 04:30 PM

Been there, done that.....I shot up 500 Speer .530's that looked exactly like little golf balls...my rifle was already sighted in with them previously and there was no change in accuracy or POI.

I had ordered 5 boxes of new Speer's off an auction, the seller just threw the 5 plastic boxes into a shoebox size carton with no packing material.