Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 New to Ml - Difference between &&& FFG and FFFG? >

New to Ml - Difference between &&& FFG and FFFG?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

New to Ml - Difference between &&& FFG and FFFG?

Old 09-07-2004, 07:50 AM

Default New to Ml - Difference between &&& FFG and FFFG?

This is a great forum! I'm new to ML and just purchased a Knight Revolution for this coming fall. I also purchased some 777 pellets and loose 777 in FFFg. What is the difference between 777 FFg and FFFg in the loose powder form? I plan to experiment with different powder/bullet combinations to determine the best combination for my rifle for deer hunting.

Thanks,
SkipD
Old 09-07-2004, 08:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: New to Ml - Difference between &&& FFG and FFFG?

fffg is finer in particle size versus ffg. The more "f" the finer the powder.
I use ffg in the barrel, ffffg in the pan on a flintlock. I don't know if anyone uses fffg 777 in the barrel, but they do make it.
Old 09-07-2004, 08:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

FFG powder is typically designed for rifle barrels. The FFFG is designed for pistols because of the shorter barrel length. FFFFG is designed for ignition in flintlock rifles, to make ignition as rapid as possible. Livbucks is right, the more the f's the finer the powder.
Old 09-07-2004, 09:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

Also the finer the granule size, the more energetic will be the powder. FFFg is more energetic than FFg so long as we are talking the same powder brand and type. If you sighted in with 100 grains by volume of FFg and then switched to FFFg, you would need to reduce your powder charge about 10% to achieve similar performance.