Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Thompson Center Shock Waves? >

Thompson Center Shock Waves?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Thompson Center Shock Waves?

Old 08-22-2004, 08:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Thompson Center Shock Waves?

anyone ever tried these? I just saw a commercial for them on tv and they were saying power belts were getting a 2' group at 200yds. and the shock wave had a 2" group at the same distance so im curious as to if this is true? i started shooting power belts last year but if these shock waves are as good as they say im gunna have to go buy some. thanks,sean
Old 08-22-2004, 08:47 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Thompson Center Shock Waves?

Shockwaves shoot excellent in most rifles. Out of my Black Diamond XR I have shot groups that measured under an inch at 100 yards. Whether I could shoot a 2" group at 200 yards... maybe with practice and a better scope on my rifle.

If the powerbelts are shooting great out of your rifle and doing the job, there is nothing wrong with trying the shockwaves. At least you have a load to fall back on if they are not accurate. I shoot shockwaves out of the Black Diamond with 110 grains of Goex FFFg. In my Knight I shoot 90 grains of FFFg. In my CVA Staghorn I shoot 90 grain of FFg. All of them shoot shockwaves very well.

Good luck with your rifle....
Old 08-22-2004, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

The power belts shot pretty good last year even though I diddent shoot to many of them I basiclly just bought a pack just before the season and made sure they shot where my old loads did and called it a day But ill pick up a pack of shock waves and try them out here soon. Are they very expensive or are they about average priced?
Old 08-22-2004, 09:12 PM
Dominant Buck