Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Shot my rod!

Old 05-22-2018, 07:03 AM
Spike

Default Shot my rod!

Well <expletive>,
i've been shooting blackpowder since 1995 and this was a first!
I reloaded the gpr and they called a 'clear' to go check targets, so i put it down, checked my targets, and on 'resume fire' i picked up the rifle, capped the nipple and fired...
Massive kick (those hawken shoulder stock butt points left marks on my shoulder) and off flew my delrin range rod that i left in the barrel!...100 yards out i found it, twisted and wavy from being accordioned in the barrel (the handle gave it front end weight to fly) and at each wave along the rod there are scrape marks from the rifling! .

Now i need to make sure the rifle wasn't damaged, the rod is toast.

Dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb, dumb
Old 05-22-2018, 07:12 AM
Boone & Crockett

The only consolation is you aint the first or the only one to have done that.
Old 05-22-2018, 07:39 AM
Giant Nontypical

I've never done it but came close a couple of times. Always at a range when I was distracted. I really hate going to public ranges. I prefer to go up in the mountains and shoot in solitude.
Old 05-22-2018, 08:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

over the yrs I have seen a LOT of OPP"S at gun ranges, seen some that were tragic and needed Life flight to take em away
so, if all that's happened here is a rad that got damaged, be happy with that LOL
could have been way worse, and YES closely inspect that barrel, if you know any GOOD smiths that can X ray it like to check for stress cracks, IMO its worth the cost for peace of mind

I seen a guy once shoot of his thumb with a rod, loading it, some amber's still hot in the barrel and BOOM< rod came out and took off his thumb, now has a big toe where the thumb used to be