Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
CVA Wolf and Stag Horn >

CVA Wolf and Stag Horn

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

CVA Wolf and Stag Horn

Old 08-27-2017, 11:40 PM
Super Moderator

Default CVA Wolf and Stag Horn

Well, I picked up two muzzleloaders yesterday. A CVA Wolf and Stag Horn.

The wolf appears to be brand new.

The staghorn isn't quite as clean but is still in very good shape.

From what I can tell the Wolf is 209 Primer.

The Stag Horn I believe is #11 Caps.

I'm pretty new to muzzleloading. I'll be picking up some supplies later this week and hopefully will start shooting them next week.

Excited for this.

I got drawn for a Special Draw Muzzleloader hunt in Ohio on January 28th. The area is a waterfowl preserve. Supposed to be really good hunting. So, it was time to get a muzzleloader and start playing with them.

-Jake
Old 08-27-2017, 11:58 PM
Super Moderator

Looking online it looks like the staghorn could be either #11 or 209. How can I tell what it is? I can post a picture of it later if that would help.

-Jake
Old 08-28-2017, 03:33 AM
Spike

A 209 primer fits into a hole roughly 1/4" diameter at the rear of the breech plug. A #11 cap with fit on an appendage or nipple at the back of the plug. Open the Wolf and look at the breech plug. Then do the same with the Staghorn to see if its the same or if there's a nipple instead of the primer pocket.

I just checked and the Staghorn uses the #11 caps. This gun should be used with blackpowder or Pyrodex, maybe triple 7 granulated powder, not the BH209 powder. The action design is wrong for the BH209. Your Wolf will handle the BH209 nicely if you buy the conversion plug from CVA or Western Powder and this is the powder I'd recommend you shoot.

Last edited by ctom; 08-28-2017 at 03:42 AM.
Old 08-28-2017, 04:29 AM
Boone & Crockett

There are two CVA Stag Horn rifles.