Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Knight rifle DISC extreme Crown >

Knight rifle DISC extreme Crown

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Knight rifle DISC extreme Crown

Old 12-09-2015, 06:24 PM
Spike

Default Knight rifle DISC extreme Crown

Hi All, I am new to black powder and have just got in a brand new knight disc extreme 52cal. And have a couple of questions.
1 The crow is cut at a angle vs strait is this normal and will this affect accuracy?
2 how many times can I use the plastic 209 primer holders
3 can I use Goex powder FF and if so what 209 primer is best
4 I am planning on using this rifle with loose 777 powder and 777 primers for Black bear, Moose, Elk,deer, any recommended do it all bullet and load. I think I will be sticking to the 458cal as bullet are less$$ and more available

Thanks for Help a New Guy out
Old 12-09-2015, 06:34 PM
Giant Nontypical

1...It's fine.
2.... Knight says once, but i've used them 2-3 times.
3....Use the same primer you're using for T7.
4...458 bullet will work good.
Old 12-09-2015, 07:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

An 11 degree crown is considered optimum to most target shooters, me included, for the gas balance upon bullet exit. I have 11 degree on most all of my rifles including my front loaders. I'm no expert on Knight rifles but I believe they cut 11 degree crowns in most of their upper end barrels.

Never used those plastic primer seals so I have no clue there.

Like Pete said, whatever lights your T7 off will be fine for Goex

.458's have an excellent selection in rifle bullets that will work well in that Knight.
Old 12-09-2015, 08:28 PM
Giant Nontypical

Get any of the 458 300gr JHPs. They seem to be made for milder 45/70 loads which should work just fine. I like the Sierra 458 300gr HPFN. Sierra specifies this bullet was designed to work even at Trapdoor speeds which is around 1300-1400fps at the muzzle.