Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Anyone use the T/C Omega Z5 with the Omega Nikon BDC 250 reticle scope? >

Anyone use the T/C Omega Z5 with the Omega Nikon BDC 250 reticle scope?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Anyone use the T/C Omega Z5 with the Omega Nikon BDC 250 reticle scope?

Old 10-27-2013, 07:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Anyone use the T/C Omega Z5 with the Omega Nikon BDC 250 reticle scope?

I was recently left an T/C Omega Z5 with the Omega Nikon BDC 250 reticle scope. I am new to muzzleloading. My question is, I beleive the person who shot the gun before me only used two 50/50 powder grain pellets. The scope has 4 dots and recommends you sight it in the middle cross-hair at 100 yards with 150 grain pellet to get the other circles sighted in correctly.. Should I go with the way I believe it was loaded, or should I use it the way the scope recommends?
Old 10-27-2013, 09:02 PM
Spike

I suggest you first work on finding an accurate load for your new gun. If you know what bullet or bullet/sabot was being used with that 2-pellet load, you may have a good starting point. Maybe you will prefer a different projectile. You may enjoy finding your own accurate recipe.

Once you get a load, you can use the Nikon BDC "Spot On" Ballistic Calculator, [URL="http://spoton.nikonsportoptics.com/spoton/"], to estimate ranges for the aim points. The "Custom Load" feature will let you enter an estimate of muzzle velocity and ballistic coefficient. You will want to confirm the estimate with shooting.

For sizzling marketing copy, I imagine that a 150 grain load with a lighter, high bc, bullet makes the BDC look great for very long range shots. It may not be the accurate load for your gun. You may also want a different bullet/velocity combination if normal range shots are typical.
Old 10-28-2013, 04:20 AM
Typical Buck