Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
460 No Excuse Load Question >

460 No Excuse Load Question

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

460 No Excuse Load Question

Old 05-09-2013, 03:13 AM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by stevenm2
Josmund have you tried Bullshop 460 gr.? I am curious because they are a little better deal than the NE but I do not know anything about them.
Sorry, I have no experience with the Bullshop Conicals. I'm just now getting into the slip fits and the NE's were my first try. I see they offer a large variety.
Old 05-09-2013, 06:43 PM
Spike

I only have experience with the NE myself However I did send an e-mail to Bull shop to place an order for 500 bullets. I will let you know how that goes.
Old 10-08-2013, 12:39 PM
Spike

Default 65 grain T7 3f Velocity Equivalent to Other Powders

The original post asks, "Any guesses on FPS leaving the muzzle with 65 grains?" Some replies offer guesses about the equivalent "Black Powder charge" this represents.

I tried to take this up with data. I didn't find Hogdon data for the the 460 No Excuses. The most similar lead conical offering where I found data from a common source for all of: Pyrodex and T7, 2f and 3f; is the 385 Hornady Great Plains bullet. From that data, I have estimated velocity for the 385 GP with 65 grains volume T7 3f, and then estimated the equivalent charge of various other powders to produce that same velocity. For BH 209, I used data that Western Powder published prior to removing such conical data from their site.