Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Which Shockwave Sabot Bulet? >

Which Shockwave Sabot Bulet?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Which Shockwave Sabot Bulet?

Old 08-23-2012, 10:13 AM
Spike

Default Which Shockwave Sabot Bulet?

I am fairly new to muzzleloader hunting and am just wondering if I should shoot the Shockwave Sabot Bonded or just the regular Shockwave Sabot? What are the differences in them? Any input is appreciated.
Old 08-23-2012, 10:33 AM
Dominant Buck

Accuracy wise, I have had much better luck shooting the regular Shockwaves over the bonded. The difference is the bonded are designed to hold together better and longer for deeper penetration. For whitetails the regular should be just fine. But I have never shot a deer with one. All I have run is some very impressive penetration and expansion of bullet tests.
Old 08-23-2012, 11:05 AM
Typical Buck

I agree! I have put several New York whitetails down with 250Gr. regular shockwaves through my Rem.700ML. Your gun might have different taste though!
Old 08-23-2012, 12:40 PM
Spike

Thanks. I know this is probably a dumb question, but are these (in the links) the EXACT same bullets? As you can tell, I am definitely a muzzleloading rookie.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Shoot...3Bcat104547780

https://secure.tcarms.com/store/shoc...t-no-8238.html
Old 08-23-2012, 01:42 PM
Dominant Buck

The sabots might be different but those are all Shockwaves. Also you will see them listed as SSTs. They are made by Hornady.
Old 08-23-2012, 03:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

For deer the bonded shockwaves are probably overkill unless you are shooting at very high velocities. The SST's are basically the same bullet, and usually priced cheaper. I've had very good luck with the 200 grain Shockwaves both in terms of accuracy and terminal performance on deer, but have not tried any of the other weights.