Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Is there a trick or....? >

Is there a trick or....?

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Is there a trick or....?

Old 02-05-2012, 10:37 AM
Spike

Default Is there a trick or....?

Howdy all! I am brand spanking new to this forum and to blackpowder shooting/hunting. Shoot, I'm new to hunting. Before this, I was satisfied collecting old firearms (Mausers, Mosin-Nagants, etc) and shooting them on a recreational basis. Plus, I live in a state where only 1 in 4 hunters get drawn for hunts - that being New Mexico. Growing up in Wyoming, New Mexico seems too sparse for a beginner like me to even try a hunt.

Aaanyhoo, I just recently bought an Investarms .54 caliber Hawken. I like traditional weapons...they had a look I just love. The gun itself is in great shape, and I love the feel of it. Have yet to shoot it though. That being said, does anyone have any experience with these guns? I am hesitant to buy equipment for it without getting a lot of advice on what works well in these guns and what doesn't. So...is the a trick to these traditional guns? Or is it better to just jump right in?

Thanks all!

DW42
Old 02-05-2012, 11:13 AM
Dominant Buck

Investarms are very well made rifles. They are the same company that makes Lyman. I have a .54 caliber Lyman Trade Rifle flintlock. That would have the same barrel and lock probably as your Hawkins. It just is missing some of the fancy brass.

A .530 or .535 roundball will work fine in your rifle. Patches will depend on the size of the ball you shoot. I use a .530 ball and a .018 patch. Wal Mart sells 100% cotton pillow tick cloth. This will mic out at .018. Makes for nice patches.

Since my rifle is a flintlock, I shoot 90 grains of Goex 2f black powder. That ball and patch with that powder charge is very accurate and deadly for hunting.