Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

wheel weights?

Old 07-29-2011, 02:29 PM
Typical Buck

Default wheel weights?

Anybody ever try wheel weight lead for round balls. I recieved a whole bunch of it and was just wondering if it would work. I understand that it is not pure lead and pure lead works best but if this will work then what the heck.
Old 07-29-2011, 02:54 PM
Giant Nontypical

A lot of guys use it. I don't like it. The balls end up harder, and if you have a tight barrel, they're harder to load. They don't expand as well as pure lead either.

I like pure lead.
Old 07-29-2011, 03:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have been casting round balls and conicals for years(many years) with straight WW and with pure lead. I have never been able to tell a dimes worth of difference between the two in accuracy. I have noticed I have better retained mass with WW.

I believe the harder lead was a bit of a problem in some of the old soft steel barrels. But I only shoot modern barreled MZ's. And with a round ball that would not matter. It would only matter in a conical. Round balls will work perfectly.

Some people say WW will not expand. But that is simply not true. Pure lead round balls do not "expand" either. A properly expanding bullet does not shed any of its material. The proper term is a "mushroom" of the bullet. And WW will "mushroom" very well, and it will retain more weight than a straight lead round ball. Which will in the end yield more penetration if you need penetration.

What a round ball does on impact is what limits their range. A pure lead round ball sheds its mass quickly for less retained weight. That is a problem-not a good thing.