Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Questions about a revolver >

Questions about a revolver

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Questions about a revolver

Old 03-09-2011, 06:29 PM
Fork Horn

Default Questions about a revolver

So a friend has a black powder revolver he'd like to fire. It appears to be a 5 shot with a 4" barrel and appears to use #11 caps. Doing some searching online shows that it should be a .31 caliber That's about all I know about it. He figured I'd know since I shoot black powder rifles, but I'm totally new to the revolver part of it. From looking over it the first thing I notice is the cylinder has a slight bit of play even when the hammer is ****ed. It just wiggles slightly. Is this normal, or should it be perfectly still? The only reason this worries me is it seems like it would have to be lined up perfectly with the barrel so that the bullet could go down the barrel. Does this slight bit of play matter, or is it normal as long as it's not major?

The other question is how much powder should we fire in this thing? Is Pyrodex safe or do we want real black powder? What type of bullet should we use? Do you load it like a modern inline muzzle loader with a sabot, or do we use a round ball and patch? I'm unfamiliar with that technique so I guess if that's what we do I need to read up on it. Also, if using real black powder is it safe to measure it out in a volume type measurer or should we weigh it?

I know he should probably have a gun smith check it out, but unfortunately there doesn't seem to be a halfway decent one in this area or at least that we have found. So I figured I'd ask here for some help.
Old 03-09-2011, 06:31 PM
Banned

arbor pin sounds loose. The last revolver i had like that, blew apart in my hand the next time i fired it.

Pyrodex P is fine. For a .31cal it'd be a very small amount of powder.
Old 03-09-2011, 06:43 PM