Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Crud in the bottom of barrel when using t7 pellets? >

Crud in the bottom of barrel when using t7 pellets?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Crud in the bottom of barrel when using t7 pellets?

Old 01-04-2011, 12:00 AM
Fork Horn

Default Crud in the bottom of barrel when using t7 pellets?

I have been using triple 7 pellets for a few years now, and have been having this problem since then. I just decided I was gonna ask and see if this was normal, or if I had some kinda problem. They shoot great out of my gun, no hang fires, or misfires. The thing is I can only shoot one shot without cleaning, because there is so much crud built up in the very bottom of the barrel where the pellets sit.
I swab the barrel between every shot. First using one of the blue cleaning patches...sometimes it is very tough to get it to pass the crud ring (which I call it), and pull it back out. Then I use a dry patch to dry the cleaner up.
I was shooting with a buddy, and he told me that my gun would probably be more accurate than it was if I could shoot 2-3 shots without cleaning. He said his gun was more accurate with 3 shots of not cleaning compared to cleaning every shot. Don't get me wrong my gun is very accuarte. At 50 yards bullets holes are passing through the same holes in groupings, and at 100 yards its keeping 1 1/2 to 3 inch groups. It did get me thinking though. What if I miss a deer by chance, and I only have a few seconds for another chance. I'd like to not have to swab the barrel with 2 patches before reloading.
I was wondering is there something going on causeing it to do this "CRUD RING"? I use 2 50grain pellets, I'm using triple 7 primers, and shooting a hornady 240 grain xtp bullet with a harvester crushed rib sabot. It left the same crud when using a shockwave, and a t/c break away sabot also.