Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Bang for the buck range and hunting for T/C? >

Bang for the buck range and hunting for T/C?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Bang for the buck range and hunting for T/C?

Old 12-13-2010, 09:14 AM
Spike

Default Bang for the buck range and hunting for T/C?

LOL - sorry for the bad pun...

I've been doing a lot of reading (obsessing...) on the boards here and elsewhere about ML. I bought a T/C Impact rifle (1 in 28 twist) the other day and was shooting the Barnes T-EZ 290gr and 230 gr T/C Sure Shot (I think the same as Cheap Shot) with 85gr cci 209 and bh 209. No problems firing at all, cleanup a snap - but the 290gr t-ez were snnnnuuugggg... (ie, hands are a bit bruised still... )

I'm brand new to this sport, but have a question about bullets. The barnes t-ez is over a $1 a shot - so it's a little steep for my blood to spend lots of time at the range. The sure shot's were $7 for 20, that's doable. Looking at bullet info on the mmp site it would seem to make sense that it would be good to choose a bullet that could be used on medium or larger game, in the least weight (if that info on the mmp site is good). That would leave the barnes xpb 250gr or speer MJHP 260gr - but since the barnes is over $1 a bullet, I am leaning towards the speer as it's 50 for $15 - all plus sabots.

Finally - recommend .45 or .44 for this situation? I don't see here in this part of Missouri taking a shot over 125, max, usually 70-100 I would guess.

Oh - and just to add... since I have little 'uns running around, I seldom get a lot of time to go to the range, so I was looking primarily at sabot rounds as with the bh209, return shots are an easy affair. I'm not sure if you can do the same with lubed conicals (no swabbing between shots) - but if I'm wrong, please feel free to recommend things in that department as well.