Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Why Did You Fall In Love With Muzzleloading? >

Why Did You Fall In Love With Muzzleloading?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Why Did You Fall In Love With Muzzleloading?

Old 12-07-2010, 11:54 AM
Fork Horn

Default Why Did You Fall In Love With Muzzleloading?

I would love to here your story as to how you were introduced to Muzzy's. My son is not passionate at all about muzzy's because he thinks I am the only one around who uses them.

I am very new to muzzleloading compared with some of you vets. Yet, I am "like"...a little off balance when desiring one, shooting one, and hearing the stories of others enjoying one.

I watched and read this site for quit a while before deciding to join. Once I listened to the advice of those here on BH 209 and my sons first deer, I had to join and hopefully share info that others could benefit by.

My story is this. A young man convinced me to try a Muzzy that used an 11 primer. He told me stories of how in Ohio men killed deer at 200 yards (no riffle state). He was so passionate about their effectiveness that I was charmed to give it a try.

So I bought the old TC and never fired it. When I was trying to purchase powder and caps from the local hunting store, I overheard men bashing 11 primers and any gun that did not use a 209.

Because I was new, I did not hesitate to research what they said. It turns out that most manufacturer's where indeed heading in the 209 direction. So because of this, I decided to sell the gun I owned for less than two days and buy a new TC right out of the box.

I fell in love with the gun (Z7) immediately. I just loved stuffing the sabot, after the powder. I liked the fact that it was up to me to discover the guns abilities. I loved the fact that smoke filled the air making it hard to see the target. I loved shooting 150 yards and hitting a pie plate.