Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

T/C XTP bullets

Old 11-11-2010, 07:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default T/C XTP bullets

I was at Walmart and noticed they had T/C XTP bullets with Mag sabots for $12 for 30 bullets and sabots. This is quite a bit cheaper per shot than even the Gold Dots I recently started shooting. How are these bullets? Are they good on deer? What about accuracy. I'm just wondering if I shouldn't switch to these. I always want the best option for the least amount of money. However, if I have to sacrifice a ton of performance to save a little money it's not worth it to me.
Old 11-11-2010, 07:19 PM
Dominant Buck

From all I have read... they work just fine on deer.
Old 11-11-2010, 07:24 PM
Fork Horn

I love them and for $12.00 it is a great deal. 240g will blow a hole through them deer.

They are very similar to the Hornady xtp. So much so I think they are except they come with a black sabot.

D
Old 11-11-2010, 07:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

That is what I have been shooting out of my Traditions Evolution for the last 5 years. The have performed flawlessly on deer for me and shoot very well out to 150 yards.
Old 11-12-2010, 02:00 AM
Spike

I've been shooting 300gr TC XTP for the last 4yrs behind 100gr of BH209 out of my Omega and it has performed well for me.
Old 11-12-2010, 04:39 AM
Giant Nontypical

They are a good bullet, they are not bonded and will separate the jacket for the core a good part of the time. The Gold Dots are bonded and do not separate the core from the jacket and do deliver more shock. On a thin skinned animal such as a deer the XTP especially the heavier ones do well for boar and bear or anything bigger I believe the Gold Dot shows a decided advantage.
Old 11-12-2010, 08:17 AM
Boone & Crockett