Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Move It

Old 10-18-2010, 01:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Move It

I just got finished moving my ladder stand. The land owner told me yesterday,four days before opening day of black powder season now mind you, that he wanted me to move my stand. The thing is it was in the corner of his property close to the border of his neighbors property where there is a horse trail nearby the neighbor built. I've been hunting that spot for 3 years now. I have my mineral lick there and have plenty of videos of nice bucks at the lick. I hunt there with his grandson, the one who said he was going to bleach my mineral lick, and he has seen some of the videos of the bucks I have filmed. Funny though,while I was up in the stand ratcheting it to the tree I heard a noise behind me and turned to see a big doe 20 yards away in the field and moving away from me. With all the noise I was making you would think there wouldn't be a deer within a mile of me.

Last edited by pluckit; 10-19-2010 at 09:58 AM.
Old 10-18-2010, 01:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

If you don't hunt where other people don't, you might not see the deer they don't.

Don't worry about a change in location. It can be the best thing after hunting the same stand location a few years in a row.
Old 10-19-2010, 06:20 AM
Typical Buck

pluckit , I had something similar to that happen to me before. Sometimes it is better not to share with others ,what you are seeing on your trailcam,or what you have seen yourself.
It shouldn't be that way,but,it often is.Good Luck in your new stand location. Kill a BIG one.
Old 10-19-2010, 07:28 AM
Dominant Buck