Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Jacketed Bullets

Old 07-08-2010, 06:48 PM
Fork Horn

Default Jacketed Bullets

Having used sidelocks in the past, I'm now new to inline muzzleloading. My cva kodiak magnum has a 28" barrel with a 1:28" twist.

I'd like to use full bore (50 cal) bullets rather than sabots. Can I use jacketed bullets over 120-150 grains of 777 and expect accuracy? Or should I use Solid lead bullets?

Also, if it matters, i'd like to use 250-270 grain bullets for deer.

thanks,
ths78
Old 07-09-2010, 05:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

For full bore: Try the Hornady FPB 350gr for a full bore bullet, the Thor is also fairly good but you have to find out what size you need and Thor is overly expensive.
The best sabot combination for deer is the 250 gr Gold Dot with the long Harvester sabot in my guns [different guns with a variation in bore size some times require a different sabot] it works best if you can find an accuracy load between 90 and 110 gr of Blackhorn, Pyrodex or if you are one of the few who don't get crud-ring or enjoy spending your shooting time cleaning 777[clean every shot for reasonable accuracy.
Old 07-09-2010, 11:41 AM
Nontypical Buck

If you want to use full-bore instead of sabots, I would also recommend the FPB - they have them in a 300 grain version now as well as the 350. The Thors are good bullets as well, but more expensive. Both options will allow you to use heavier powder charges and perform well.

However, I wouldn't use 150 grains of loose 777 - that is a pretty powerful load, not recommended for CVA muzzleloaders. (not to mention it will not the snot out of you with a 300 grain bullet) I wouldn't use more than 120 grains of loose 777 or 150 grains of pellets.

As far as accuracy goes, there's no way to tell until you get out to the range and try some different combinations out.