Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Where to start?

Old 11-01-2009, 08:30 AM
Fork Horn

Default Where to start?

I'm thinking I want to start hunting with a muzzleloader/blackpowder next season.

Can anyone point a wannabe-newbie in the right direction to get started? Literature, gun recommendations, etc...

There are decent opportunities for hunting whitetails here with short range weapons only. I was thinking a muzzleloader. It's something I have never done.

Thanks in advance

Last edited by Wlfdg; 11-01-2009 at 08:44 AM.
Old 11-01-2009, 08:50 AM
Giant Nontypical

I would start right here on huntingnet. I am kind of new to blackpowder myself, but everything I have learned, has been right here. There are a bunch of very helpful guys around here.
Old 11-01-2009, 09:01 AM
Dominant Buck

First thing you do is learn the restrictions your state has on the kind of muzzle loader, ignition system, powders, projectiles, etc. Sabotloader is from Idaho and he can be a big help in getting you to pick a correct and accurate rifle.
Old 11-01-2009, 10:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

I am new to. Nights are good from what i read they cost alot. Tc makesa good selection. The omega is a cheap gun for a good start. I choose the TC triumph camo. It breechs like a shotgun for easy acces to the primer and breech plug. It has the toolless speed breech that can be removed with one had with a 90% turn. From handling the triumph a couple times before buying it it is a little tricky to much one way and it will not come out. To much of a turn it will not go back in. It is like a bolt that is smooth on two sides. Half of it is round and threaded half is smooth and cut out SO it slides in and turns tight. I can not tell you how it handles or shoots as i ordered mine from a forum member and should have it early to mid next week. It cost me 479.00 but most want 550 to 600 for it.