Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
new to muzzleloading >

new to muzzleloading

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

new to muzzleloading

Old 09-29-2009, 09:08 AM
Fork Horn

Default new to muzzleloading

Hey guys, im new to this , I just scored a used tc encore magnum 209x50 . I stipped it down and cleaned it everywhere, inspecting everything,(own several guns) got it back to "like new" condition. added a nikon bdc omega scope to it and went out to site it in, I used pyronex (three of them) and a bronze bullet with a blue plastic wad. (not sure of what it was,my buddy had them) and sited it in at a hundred yards, shoots nice! bullseyes after the 6th shot, my question is what is recommended with these rifles?
cleaning (how often )?
what to lube it with?
breech plug care?
basically A quick crash course on what products to use to care for it,and things to do or not to do in the field?
looking for "kit" ideas that I can take with me in the field and have everything I would need to be and stay "ready" any help would be appreicated , and looking forward to taking it out this year.
Old 09-29-2009, 09:54 AM
Dominant Buck

cleaning (how often )? you clean the rifle at the end of the day, every time you shoot it. For instance, go to the range and shoot.. clean it that night. Or you hunt and get a shot, clean it that night. Depending on the kind of powder you use, the time you have between shooting and rusting is different. Of all the powders, Pyrodex will rust your rifle the fastest. But don't let that stop you from using it. Pyrodex is a great powder. Just clean the rifle that night.
what to lube it with? After I have the rifle clean, I protect the bore and metal parts with a quality gun oil. Leave the bore butter alone. Its a good conical lube. Other then that bore butter is a good patch lube.