Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Triple 7 Question

Old 02-02-2009, 04:55 PM
Fork Horn

Default Triple 7 Question

I was in Walmart today and noticed they had 2 containers of T7 2F powder on sale for $15.00. Now I've never used T7 before but I thought I would give it a try in my Knight 85 inline with #11 DN caps. Now my question is this; Will I get the crud ring with 11 caps? From what I think I read here it is caused by 209 primers is that correct? Is there anything special I should know? I only got 1just to give it a try.

Old 02-02-2009, 04:58 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Triple 7 Question

Shoulda` bought both. The crud ring is no big deal if you wipe between shots.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

Im not sure the No11 caps will be enough flame (mabey Im wrong?) as for the crud ring it's usually caused by the type of powder being used rather than the cap or primer. As said, just swab between shot's and you'll be fine. Again, you should have bought both of the powders.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:33 PM
Dominant Buck

You might get a crud ring, but because of the #11 caps it should not be bad. Nothing a light swab of Windex will not remove. And you should have no problem shooting Triple Seven loose with a #11 ignition. I do it all the time.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:34 PM
Boone & Crockett

Rock Fish

You should have no problem making the gun go boom with #11's in that gun. The only time you might is when hunting in sub-zero weather.

You may get a little bit of a 'crud ring' you just never know till you shoot it. Running a slighly damp patch after each shot will take care of any problems. I use regular windex and just barely dampen a patch.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:41 PM
Fork Horn