Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Newbie - Any suggestions? >

Newbie - Any suggestions?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Newbie - Any suggestions?

Old 08-18-2008, 12:32 PM

Default Newbie - Any suggestions?

New to muzzleloading and need some advice. I just purchased a CVA Optima (.50 cal) that I will be using to hunt deer primarily in Kansas. I'll be able to get several practice sessions in before hunting but I'm still searching for some loads to start shooting. From what I've gathered on here,many ofyouprefer to use loose powder for several different reasons. Being a newbie, I was thinking pellets might be easier to use until I get some more experience and I was planning on starting with 100 grains (2x 50 gr). Am I offbase here or will pellets be fine for a while? Any suggestions on what type of pellets to shoot? Also, my initial thoughts were to start shooting with Powerbelts, but I am also open to suggestions on this one. From what I've read, Kansas does not seem to be too restrictive on the types of bullets you can use so I should be able to try almost anything. I was thinking of starting somewhere between the 245 grain to 300 grain area for the Powerbelts and then trying a saboted bullet in the same range. Will these work shooting 100 grains? Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Old 08-18-2008, 12:37 PM

Default RE: Newbie - Any suggestions?

223,270,300,338 for the platinums.

Copper series, and 80grs of loose Pyrodex, 245,295,348 (348 is a good elk bullet but works fine on deer too)

My elk load is a 405gr powerbelt with 80gr Pyrodex RS.

I'd use loose powder right off the bat, Just buy a powder measure, Roughly $5 to $9, Pick the bullet you use and let us know and we can set you up with a starting point with powder charge. With Powerbelts in all sizes i always start with 70gr.

Buy an assortment of primers too.

Winchester W209