Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Need help with "my homework" >

Need help with "my homework"

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Need help with "my homework"

Old 03-02-2008, 07:58 PM
Fork Horn

Default Need help with "my homework"

I got out and shot the new hawken today. After getting the gun sited in I set up a target at 40 yards. All shots where using 60 grs. of pyrodex RS and a .15 patch w/ .490 RB. The 1st shot was inside a 2" bullseye, 2nd shot was 4" low and left. 3rd shot was right back in the bullseye. 4th & 5th shot missed the paper completely. I swabbed the barrel between each shot. I found all 5 patches and they seemed pretty ripped up. What went wrong and how should I fix it?

Thanks a bunch

P.S. I am new to this traditional stuff so feel free to give me some pointers.

Die Hard
Old 03-02-2008, 08:02 PM

Default RE: Need help with "my homework"

Sounds like it may be a flinching problem....Keep trying,ok
and report back to us..
Old 03-02-2008, 08:12 PM
Fork Horn

I doubt it was flintching cause I have never fliched in my life even when shooting 3" 12 gauge slugs ( I weigh 120 lbs). I am sure that every time I pulled the trigger I had a good sight picture and the front sight was taking up the whole dot. Heres the 2 good shots.

Die Hard
Old 03-02-2008, 08:14 PM

The patch problem could be caused by the lube thats on them. I simply use Crisco, melt it and then dip my patches. Corey came up with a nice idea of mixing bore butter in with the crisco. I feel that adds a little better protection to the patch. How does it load on a fouled barrel? If it still loads easy, Buy some .018 pillow ticking patches.

Old 03-02-2008, 08:21 PM
Dominant Buck

ORIGINAL: diehardhunter